The Hachette Australia Prize for Young Writers

Entries are now closed.
The Hachette Australia Prize for Young Writers is a developmental award open to Australian secondary school-aged students across the nation.

The prize recognises writing excellence in three categories: Fiction, Creative Nonfiction and Poetry. Entries can include writing for readers of any age.

The Prize is sponsored by Hachette Australia and administered by Express Media, Australia’s peak youth literary organisation. Shortlisted writers get the opportunity to receive mentorship from an established author. In 2020, the Hachette Australia Prize for Young Writers Mentor is Will Kostakis.
The Hachette Australia Prize for Young Writers gives young writers the opportunity to hone their skills under the guidance of some of Australia’s favourite authors. The Prize aims to ignite passion for creative writing and poetry in the minds of Australia’s secondary school students, and to encourage them to pursue writing and publishing opportunities inside and outside of the classroom.

Will Kostakis smiling to the camera
Will Kostakis. Photo by Dion Nucifora.
Will Kostakis, 2020 Hachette Australia Prize for Young Writers Mentor, says:
“When we think of writers, we tend to imagine solitary figures slouched over keyboards or notepads, ignoring the community that empowers them to realise their creative ambitions – the mentors who offer guidance, the prizes that encourage. I am the author I am today because of the generosity of my mentors, and that has inspired me to spend the past decade touring extensively, encouraging the next generation of Australian voices. I am honoured to be this year’s Hachette Australia Prize for Young Writers Mentor.”
The prize winner in each category will receive:
  • $500 courtesy of Hachette Australia
  • publication of their work on the Express Media website
  • their names and an acknowledgement printed in Voiceworks, Australia’s premier youth literary journal.

All fifteen shortlisted writers will:
  • Be invited to participate in a writing masterclass
  • Attend an exclusive Q&A with Will Kostakis
  • Attend a special showcase event in October 2020
  • Receive a book pack of YA Titles courtesy of Hachette Australia

The prize is judged by representatives from Hachette Australia and Express Media.

Entries are now closed. Here is our incredible shortlist for 2020! Congratulations to everyone shortlisted!

Have a question about the prize? Contact Jesse Oliver, Creative Producer, at


the hachette logo with the words Hachette Australia