9 May 2018

Entries are now open for The 2018 Scribe Nonfiction Prize!

We’re excited to open submissions for The 2018 Scribe Nonfiction Prize for Young Writers.

Now in its sixth year, The 2018 Scribe Nonfiction Prize is a unique development award to foster talented writers aged 30 and under writing longform work. Entries between 5,000 and 10,000 words are welcome across all nonfiction genres, including memoir, journalism, essay, and creative nonfiction.

Shortlisted writers will receive:

  • an invitation to an exclusive craft development masterclass with some of Australia’s best nonfiction writers
  • personalised feedback on their entry from the judges
  • a generous selection of new-release Scribe Publication books tailored to their reading interests

The winner receives:

  • a cash prize of $3000
  • an editorial mentorship to develop their work
  • a generous selection of new-release Scribe Publication books tailored to their reading interests.

The shortlist will be selected by Inez Trambas (Editorial committee of Voiceworks), Shu-Ling Chua (Editorial committee of Voiceworks 2016 – 2017, Writer for FeminartsyPeril Magazine and Meanjin), Bethany Atkinson-Quinton (Creative Producer, Express Media), and Myfanwy Jones (Project Manager, Scribe Publications and author of Parlour Games for Modern Famalies and LEAP).  Submissions will be judged against the following criteria: originality and creativity, voice, readership and commercial potential, literary merit, and content and structure. The winner will then be selected by Scribe Publications.

Writers will also have the chance to ask their burning questions about the prize, and seek advice on what the judges are looking for during a live Q&A, with date to be announced.

Past winners and shortlisted writers have gone onto sign their debut works as a direct result of the prize: Briohny Doyle (Adult Fantasy, May 2017), Oliver Mol (Lion Attack!, May 2015), Patrick Mullins (A Liberal View, forthcoming 2018), Drew Rooke (The Final Spin, forthcoming May 2018), and Lech Blaine (Car Crash forthcoming late 2018). The 2014 winner, Robbie Arnott, has received critical acclaim for his work, and was awarded The 2015 Tasmanian Young Writers Fellowship.

Entries close 11.59pm Sunday September 9.

The Scribe Nonfiction Prize for Young Writers is presented in partnership with Scribe Publications and Word For Word National Non-Fiction Festival.

Ready to submit? Head to the page for submission guidelines, terms and conditions, and to submit your entry!