The New Voices Series

In 2012 and 2013 Express Media partnered with Australian Poetry to produce the New Voices Series; four individual collections of poetry by emerging writers.

The New Voices Series saw four outstanding poets across the country mentored by established poets and their first collected works published in a book.

In 2012, Express Media and Australian Poetry worked with Matthew Abbott on wild audible and Eileen Chong on Burning Rice. Their debut collections went on to be republished to critical acclaim. In 2013 Ainslee Meredith’s Pinetorch (VIC) was the first book in the 2013 New Voices Series, followed by Missive by Clare Cholerton (NSW), Through the Forrest by Joel Ephraims (NSW) and Stroke by Zoe Taylor (WA).

The New Voices series allowed emerging poets to graduate from the pages of literary journals and poetry magazines to their own anthology of work, published, printed and available for purchase.