11 April 2017

Pens and Pathways

Ready to read? Ready to write? Here’s a handy guide for where you can start.

SOUTH AUSTRALIAN

Adelaide Writers Week
adelaidefestival.com.au

Broadsheet Adelaide
broadsheet.com.au/adelaide

Carclew
carclew.com.au

CityMag
citymag.indaily.com.au
CityMag chronicles a different side to Adelaide, uncovering a smart, surprising, world-class city. We’re interested in journalistic story pitches that capture long-term Adelaide trends and changes and examine them through the small-scale experiences of individuals, organisations, and businesses. We also are interested new voices offering their well-written and engaging opinions about issues that matter. Contact Editor Farrin Foster on ff@citymag.com.au.

Draw Your (S)Words
www.facebook.com/drawyourswordspoetry

SA Writers Centre
sawriters.org.au

Subtext Collective
subtextco.com
Subtext Collective is an artist-run literary collective for emerging non-fiction writers in Adelaide, South Australia. We exist to encourage a community of young writers, and to create opportunities to develop their practice. We love experimentation, and we believe in diversity, intersectionality, and accessibility. Our past events have been a workshop about the relationship between writers and editors, and a poetry event with New York performer, Alok Vaid-Menon.

The Hearth
thehearthsite.wordpress.com
The Hearth is a regular (3 per year) readings night that brings people together around conversation, creativity and ideas. Each night is based around a loose theme and features five readers who offer a piece of creative work as well as some thoughts and comments on their piece or writing process. The night concludes by opening up discussion with the audience in a Q and A with all five readers. It’s a warm and friendly space that fosters great creative conversations. The Hearth is run by Alicia Carter, Lauren Butterworth, Emma Maguire and Melanie Pryor. Get in touch via www.facebook.com/thehearthadelaide or email hearthcollective@gmail.com.

KRASS Journal
krass.com.au

The Quart Short
quartshort.wordpress.com

Yewth Mag
yewthmag.com

FACEBOOK GROUPS

Adelaide Arts Community
facebook.com/groups/adelaidearts

Adelaide Poetry Gig Guide
facebook.com/groups/adelaide.poetry.gig.guide

Adelaide Creatives Network
facebook.com/groups/420076028037332

Writers in South Australia
facebook.com/groups/1496357900600841

Youngblood Poets
facebook.com/groups/youngbloodpoetsinspire

National Young Writers Group
https://www.facebook.com/groups/165517226836831

Binder Full of Australian Women Writers
facebook. com/groups/667081026710979

NATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES

Express Media
www.expressmedia.org.au

Australian Theatre for Young People
www.atyp.com.au

National Young Writers Festival
youngwritersfestival.org

Australian Poetry
www.australianpoetry.org

Emerging Writers’ Festival / Digital Writers’ Festival
www.emergingwritersfestival.org.au

Australian Society of Authors
www.asauthors.org

The Walkley Foundation
www.walkleys.com

Red Room Company
www.redroomcompany.org

Playwriting Australia
www.pwa.org.au

Publications

Antic online anticmagazine.com.au
Archer Magazine online and print archermagazine.com.au
Beat online and print beat.com.au
BMA online and print bmamag.com
Broadly online broadly.vice.com
Broadsheet online broadsheet.com.au/adelaide
Canary Press print thecanarypress.com
Chart Collective online and print chartcollective.org
Cordite Poetry Review online cordite.org.au
Daily Life online smh.com.au/lifestyle/home
Feminartsy online feminartsy.com
Frankie online and print frankie.com.au
Funny Ha Ha online and print readfunnyhaha.com
Gargouille print gargouille.com.au
Going Down Swining online and print goingdownswinging.org.au
Homer online homeronline.com
Hot Chicks with Big Brains online and print hotchickswithbigbrains.com
Island print islandmag.com
Junkee online junkee.com
Kill Your Darlings print killyourdarlings.com.au
KRASS Journal print and online krass.com.au
Liminal Mag online liminalmag.com
Lip Mag online lipmag.com
Maggie Journal online maggiejournal.com
Meanjin online and print meanjin.com.au
New Matilda online newmatilda.com
Overland online and print overland.org.au
Pencilled In online and print pencilled.in
Peril Magazine online peril.com.au
Plaything online and print playthingmagazine.tumblr.com
Rosie Respect print rosierespect.org.au
Scum Mag online scum-mag.com
Seizure online and print seizureonline.com
Smith Journal online and print smithjournal.com.au
Swampland online swamplandmag.co
The Adventure Handbook online theadventurehandbook.com
The Brag online and print thebrag.com
The Cusp online thecusp.com.au
The Lifted Brow online and print theliftedbrow.com
The Music online and print themusic.com.au
The Suburban Review online and print thesuburbanreview.com
Tincture online tincture-journal.com
VICE online vice.com/en_au
Vocal online thevocal.com.au
Voiceworks print voiceworksmag.com.au
Walkley Magazine online walkleys.com/about/walkley-magazine
Westerly online and print westerlymag.com.au
Writers’ Bloc online thewritersbloc.net
Yewth Mag online and print yewthmag.com

Tagged